A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Chaitra Navratri
Home city guide courts in jorhat

Courts in Jorhat

The Jorhat district has a Session Judge and a  District court. There is no high court in Jorhat and all the cases pertaining to a high court are transferred to Guwahati High Court which oversees the judiciary of Assam and the Northeastern states.

The District and Sessions Judge Court  in  Jorhat District was established on 15th November 1948 and came into effect from April 1953.  The first judge was honorable Mr. S.K Das.

The District territorial jurisdiction is also extended to another sub division namely Majuli sub division. The District and Sessions Judge court along with the complex of the Chief Judicial Magistrate Court is located in the heart of Jorhat town. The District and Sessions Judge of  Jorhat currently is Mr. Abhijit Bhattacharyya. The sub division magistrate court located in Majuli was established in the year 1992 on 16th March. The court is located in Garamur in Majuli which falls under Jorhat district and the first divisional judicial magistrate was Mr. N. Sarmah and Dipu Barman is the present magistrate.

The Chief Judicial Magistrate court was established on 1975 and the first chief judicial magistrate of this court was R.M Chakravorty. The Chief Judicial Magistrate court started its functioning in the year 1970.
There is also the Jorhat Bar Association which was established in the year 1901 and works for the development of the lawyers and regulation of court activities. The president of the prestigious Jorhat Bar Association is Sri Bhaba Goswami and the secretary of the association is Sri Hemen Borah.

Courts in Jorhat

Contact Details of Courts in Jorhat

  • District and Sessions Judge Court: Baruah Chariali, Jagannath Barooah College Road in Jorhat
  • Chief Judicial Magistrate Court: Baruah Chariali, Jagannath Barooah College Road in Jorhat
  • Sub Divisional Judicial Magistrate Court: Garamur, Majuli, Jorhat

Juvenile Justice System in Jorhat:

The Juvenile Justice System in Jorhat started functioning from the year 2008 and has been functioning on the premises of Observation Home under Jorhat Judiciary. The Observation Home was established in the year 1987 and is located in Lichubari area in Jorhat town. The Observation Home is located at a distance of 5 kms from the main court premises and caters to the upper Assam districts of Nagaon district, Lakhimpur district, Sonitpur district, Dhemaji district, Morigaon district, Tinsukia district, Dibrugarh district, Golaghat district, Karbi Anglong district, Sibsagar district and district ofJorhat. The Observation Home can house up to 50 persons and has all facilities of doctor, counselors, educators, workers and teachers of different fields for the development of juveniles.

The Jorhat Court supervises into different cases like suit files, TADA cases, money suit cases and miscellaneous other cases. The Guwahati High Court located in capital city Guwahati looks into the higher sensitivity cases from Jorhat and other districts of Assam.

The Guwahati High Court was initially inaugurated as Assam High Court on 5th April 1948. The Assam High Court earlier had sittings in Shillong but later it shifted to Guwahati on August 14th, 1948. When Nagaland was created in 1963, the Assam High Court was later renamed as High Court of Assam and Nagaland. Later, when re-organization of the northeastern region by the North Eastern Area (Re-organization) Act occurred in the year 1971, a common High Court was established and was renamed as Gauhati High Court.

Explore more about About Jorhat

Major Cities You Must Know

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries